For the Love of the Game

May 13, 2014 | Media Galleries, Uncategorized, Upper School News, US Athletics

For the Love of the Game
Honoring our Varsity Athletes and Coaches

All varsity athletes from the sports seasons of the 2013-2014 School year were recently honored at the annual awards banquet.  Over 340 students, family members and guests were in attendance for this event.  Each team from fall, winter and spring sports chose one player to award the Most Valuable Player award as well as the Mustang Award.  The Mustang Award is given to the athlete who always does their best, is on time and focused at practice and displays a positive attitude throughout the season.   Michael Edmonson was awarded the Upper School Coach of the Year award.  Michael coaches varsity softball and varsity wrestling.  Chris Moore was awarded the Mustang Service Award because of his dedication to the Varsity Football program through his work with the Drum line, having the sound system going at all games and his athletic support through his two sons during their years playing sports at Mount Vernon. Congratulations to all athletes and coaches for wonderful seasons this year.

Sport  Mustang Award  MVP Award
Varsity Baseball Peyton Evertson John Traurig
Varsity Basketball Cheer Megan Taylor Katherine Ward
Varsity Boys Basketball Keon Douglas Jared Harper
Varsity Boys Cross Country Josh Swartz Josh Eastwood
Varsity Boys Soccer Andrew Dobbins Drake Gomer
Varsity Boys Swim Charlie Goldman James McGuire
Varsity Boys Tennis Parker Willsey Nate Chambers
Varsity Boys Track Ben Tyler Ja’Von Douglas
Varsity Diving Garrett Moorman Dillion Briggs
Varsity Football Jacob Munoz Andrew Dobbins
Varsity Football Cheer Kinsey Peterson Jael Ward
Varsity Girls Basketball Mia Whitney Autumn Burnette
Varsity Girls Cross Country Nora Stout Katherine Ward
Varsity Girls Soccer Julia Haushalter Evelyn Sharkey
Varsity Girls Swim Hannah Onley Maddy Nelson
Varsity Girls Tennis Kelsey Latimer Gabriela Gonzalez
Varsity Girls Track Nora Stout Audria Douglas
Varsity Golf David Stromquist Andrew Stovall
Varsity Softball Addie Goins Lauren Daniel
Varsity Volleyball Kate Weathers Rachel Carney
Varsity Wrestling Constantine Gavalas Jack Hale
Varsity Coach of the Year
Mike Edmonson
Mustang Service Award
Chris Moore
Varsity Boys Mustang Award
Christian Burke
Varsity Girls Mustang Award
Kinsey Peterson
Varsity Boys MVP
Keon Douglas
Varsity Girls MVP
Addie Goins

Photos by Betsy Armstrong.
[justified_image_grid preset=11 ids=2903,2904,2905,2906,2907,2908,2909,2910,2911,2912,2913,2914,2915,2916,2917,2918,2919,2920,2921,2922,2923,2924,2925,2926]