Middle School Stars Shine Bright

May 10, 2017 | Fine Arts, Have Fun, Middle School News

Hosted by eighth graders Cole Forrest, Sarah Pope, and Sarah Schab, the Middle School talent show is a platform on which students in grades 5-8 can step onstage to showcase their talents, which include: singing, comedy, playing guitar, dancing, a step routine, and more. View the online gallery.
Middle School teacher Tarrik Mabon (Coach T) not only coached one of the routines, but participated as well. He shares, “The MV Middle School talent show was second to none. This is my third year attending and this year, by far, had the most variety and parity in regards to talent. There was singing, dancing, acting, speaking, comedy and even stepping! It was refreshing to be able to showcase what we do in my “Stomp the Vern” club during Club Fridays in our middle school. We had approximately 20 kids in class, six of whom performed in the talent show. I feel that the students, faculty and parents were ALL impressed. There is a lot of talent at this school and I am proud to say that I am part of a community that cultivates the many talents of our dynamic students. You can not put us in a box!”
Judged for fun only, by Middle School faculty and staff, the following “winners” were announced:
1st Place: Maggie Sims
2nd Place: Mason King
3rd Place: Junie Shin
4th Place: Allison Jones
Congratulations to all performers!
Hope Holloway: “Million Reasons” by Lady Gaga (Acoustic Guitar and Singing)  
Elliott McGoldrick and Leah Collins: “Mean” by Taylor Swift (Acapella)
Gillian Anderson and Mason King: “Riptide” by Vance Joy (Guitar and Singing)
Coach T, Aubrey Ellis, Miller Woodall, Mary Fuentes, Grace Westmoreland, Isabel Cuellar, Emma Dickie (Step Routine)
Charlotte Bradford: “Brighter than the Sun” by Colbie Caillat (Singing)
Allison Jones: “Ours” by Taylor Swift (Singing)
Cate Jacobsen, Mary Hannah Martin, Sydney Tiffin, Nina Brooks, and Rory Hansen : “22″ by Taylor Swift (Band)
Blythe and Masie Graham: “Aaron Burr” from Hamilton (Rap)
Aidan Ray, Kyle Cumming, Ben Barber: “We Are Number One” from Lazy Town (Comedy Act)
Will Jackson: “Lost Boy” by Ruth B. (Singing)
Junie Shin: “Make You Feel My Love” by Adele (Singing)
Hunter Smith and Brian McWilliams (Dance) 
Samantha McCarthy: “Clean” by Taylor Swift (Singing)
Zandy Geiger: “On My Own” by Samantha Barks (Singing)
Mason King: “Folsom Prison Blues” by Johnny Cash (Guitar and Singing)
Jalen Gardner: “Closer” by The Chainsmokers (Singing)
Laney and Sam Whiting: “Flashlight” by Jessie J. (Singing, Audio, Video in Recording Studio)
Maggie Sims: “Alright” Original song (Singing)
Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 12.46.49 PM