Record Breaking Year for Cross Country

Oct 7, 2015 | MS Athletics, Upper School News

CoachPiligianBaroody Mount Vernon’s Varsity and Middle School Cross Country teams have been tearing up the trails this season. Led by Coach Gary Piligian and Assistant Coach Sam Baroody, the Varsity team is one of the School’s largest teams to date with 57 runners–many of whom have set some outstanding PRs (personal records). New to the team this year is sophomore Maxine Peterson–who quickly in her second meet of the season set a record in the 5K of 22:03, making her the fastest female cross country runner in Mount Vernon’s history. Topping the boys team at the Varsity level this year has been junior Chris Smith with a personal record of 19:25. At at the JV level, sophomore Jake Eaves has led the team with a personal record of 21:31. (see below for the runners who consistently place in the Top 5) Varsity will compete in two more meets this season before the region championship on October 31.

Mount Vernon’s Middle School Cross Country Team boasts a roster of 69 runners–the most ever. Coaches Katie Cain and Ben Hendry have led the team to victory this season.
Last week in the Perimeter Grinder meet, the boys placed third (earning its first trophy ever for Middle School boys’ cross country) and the girls earned second place. The team’s two fastest runners this year are Nick Pierce who set the team’s middle school boys’ record with a 12:20 two-mile and Emily Raeside setting the girls’ record with a 12:50 two-mile. (see below for the runners who consistently place in the Top 5) The team goes on to compete on the exact same course against many of the same teams Thursday, October 8 for the region championship. Go Mustangs!

MaxinePetersonVarsity Leaders

Maxine Peterson

Madeline Hudgins

Nina Toller

Avery Maxwell

Daniela Jimenez

Daphne Zintak

Chris Smith

Kippy Ngeny

Josh Eastwood

Daniel Ward

Townsend Lambert

Steven Butz

CPsv3ZjWcAAhhM5Middle School Leaders

Emily Raeside

Audrey O’Toole

Hope Holloway

Ella Uhde

Josie Meade

CPsvpX9WIAAYrarNick Pierce

Ryan Daniels

Sean Pierce

Andrew White

Ricardo Ruiz